Gluten-Free Vanilla Almond Granola

IMG_6101

The first day of Autumn is quickly approaching and it’s still 95 degrees where we live! If I wasn’t so much of a wuss in the snow, I’d pick up and move to the East Coast so I could do some leaf peeping and enjoy the Fallidays properly. Have you heard of leaf peeping? We took a trip to New England a few years ago in October and learned the clever little title for tourists who fly out to see all of the gorgeous and vibrant Fall foliage.

I decided I’m going to go ahead and ignore the weather and pretend that it is Fall here.
Although I don’t think I’ll last long outside in a trench and over-the-knee boots, I can at least make my home feel like it. I’ve decorated with pumpkins and brought out the sweet-smelling candles, but best of all is the Fall cooking! I’m obsessing over soups and comfort baked goods right now.

As I mentioned in my last post, I’m eating a few new things right now. One of which is Oats. I found Organic Certified Gluten Free Rolled Oats at Whole Foods and am using them to their fullest as it is turning to Autumn.

Rule # 1 on this granola recipe is DON’T BURN IT! I took Asher out to the backyard to play and left one tray just 10 minutes too long. If you don’t use kitchen timers like me and burn it, just add a little extra honey or some maple syrup to help the taste!

The flax seeds in this recipe contribute a fantastic amount of essential vitamins and minerals; but even more importantly: fiber, antioxidants and Omega-3 fatty acids! Talk about healthy breakfast. 

I love eating this granola in the morning with a little almond milk and fresh blueberries.  You can also just eat it by the handful throughout the day as a snack!

Ingredients (makes 4 cups)

3 cups rolled oats (certified gluten-free)
1 cup almonds, chopped
1/2 cup flax seeds
1/2 cup unsweetened dried coconut flakes
1/4 cup coconut crystals (palm sugar)
1/2 tablespoon cinnamon
1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons honey
1/4 cup extra virgin coconut oil, melted
3/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1 tablespoon vanilla
1 cup raisins

Directions

Preheat oven to 250 degrees F.

In a large bowl, combine the oats, almonds, flax seeds, dried coconut, coconut crystals, and cinnamon.

In a separate bowl, combine honey, oil, salt, and vanilla.

Line 2 sheet pans with sil-pats or parchment paper. Combine both mixtures, then mix in pour out evenly onto the pans in a thin layer.

Bake for 1 hour, stirring every 15 minutes to ensure even browning. The granola will be somewhat soft when you pull it out, but will continue to crisp up while cooling. Alternatively, dry in your dehydrator at 160 degrees for 20 hours.

Stir in the raisins, then let the granola cool completely before storing in an airtight container.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 171 other followers

