Thai Coconut Soup (Tom Kha Gai)

There’s an amazing little town in Colorado called Telluride, and it is home to culinary greatness. There’s an Asian Fusion restaurant called Honga’s Lotus Petal and they serve the best rendition of my favorite Thai soup, Tom Kha Gai. You can taste the fresh ingredients and it’s not overly sweet or heavy. Fortunately for me, they published a cook book, but unfortunately, a lot of the ingredients are not SCD legal. So I experimented a bit and came out with this delicious variation.

Ingredients (serves 4-6)

1 TB coconut oil
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 TB Thai red curry paste (you can find brands on Amazon or Whole Foods that are SCD legal)
2 cups chicken stock
28 oz. canned light coconut milk
2 inches of ginger, thinly sliced
1 cup chicken, roasted and pulled from the bone
1 stalk lemongrass, sliced at an angle in ½ inch pieces
1 cup sliced white mushrooms
8 kaffir lime leaves
1 stalk celery, finely diced
4 TB fish sauce (Amazon sells an all natural, no preservatives or sugars – PURE Fish Sauce)
¼ cup fresh lime juice
½ cup honey
8 cherry tomatoes, sliced in half
2 scallions, thinly sliced
2 tablespoons fresh cilantro

Directions

In a large soup pot, heat the oil and then add the garlic and curry.  Stir until the aromas of the curry are released; pour in the chicken stock and coconut milk.  Stir briskly to infuse garlic and curry into liquid.  Bring to a boil, reduce the heat and simmer for 5 minutes.

Add the ginger, chicken, lemongrass, mushrooms, lime leaves, celery, fish sauce, lime juice and honey.  Bring back to a boil.

Reduce the heat, stir in the tomatoes and turn off the heat.

Garnish with scallions and cilantro before serving.


If you like soup, be sure to check out:

Italian Turkey and Bean Soup

Mexican Chicken Soup

Turkey and Squash Soup

Roasted Pumpkin Soup with Sage and Prosciutto

 

Comments
5 Responses to “Thai Coconut Soup (Tom Kha Gai)”
  1. Brittny Debonis says:

    ok I’m pretty sure I’m making this for tomorrow!

    ps I’m so glad there’s a new post!.. I’ve been meaning to check this out : )

    We’ve started the CLEAN detox.. not the same.. but for a fearful cook .. it’s been an adventure.. and now I’m into the foodie thing and feel a bit more confident in trying some of these : )

    pss: I love your site! Has it changed recently? I’ve got to check out WordPress!

    • dlynnewalker says:

      It’s my favorite soup. I make a big pot and freeze half, and then eat the other half all week for lunch. I’m glad my recipes can inspire you! 🙂 And yes, I just gave my blog a little makeover. Glad you like it!!

  2. Julia Mosack says:

    This looks awesome, will be making it soon!

  3. anne says:

    Hi Danielle,

    This sounds fantastic! I’ve been MISSING eating Thai food lately being SCD…

    Question – you mention canned light coconut milk. Do you know a brand that’s SCD legal? I haven’t been able to find any but I’m convinced I’m just looking in the wrong places. 🙂

    • Against All Grain says:

      Hi Anne- Technically nothing canned is SCD legal, but I make an exception for the coconut milk and occasionally the organic pumpkin from Trader Joe’s. Neither of them have any gums or fillers and just the ingredients. The organic full fat coconut milk from Whole Foods has been checked to be SCD legal as well. There’s a few people out there who have called the company to double check, so I’m taking their word for it!

Leave a Reply

